The negotiator

negociate5

Lately, I sometimes negotiate with my teacher. Because my teacher was busy and our classes were not as frequent as usual. One day he completely forgot a class, being so tired. It was the first time, though. But he needed to give me five free classes. After that, my teacher frequently canceled English classes. Finally, my teacher said….

“I’d like to apologize for my flakiness and for being untrustworthy last week. My excuse is that I was very busy, but things should be back to normal now.”
Me: “And?”😐
My teacher: 😱”How many free classes do you want?”

After negotiating, I got three free classes! 😄 I don‘t speak English well yet and actually, I didn’t know how to reply when somebody apologized to me and I didn’t want to say “No problem.”  Also, I wanted to change the situation into something positive. So I negotiated and I learned English at the same time.

I’m not upset, maybe a little bit disappointed, but one thing was funny. My teacher sent me an email which included photographic evidence of how busy he was. I usually believe my teacher’s excuses, however, photographs are a good and useful to understand and prove something.
Anyway, I got eight free classes due to my teacher’s misdeeds during that time. Woo-hoo! 🤣

After that… I screwed up. 😣
Although I got a total of eight free classes, my head was full of my English test. It completely slipped my mind that it was a payment day for my English class. In the middle of the night, three days past the payment due date, I woke up and all of a sudden I remembered it. “Oh my goodness!” I got up and paid it. It was the first time for me.

I thought I should give back some free classes to my teacher. And then, I will negotiate for more if I pass the English test, I will get them back and also another two free classes as promised. During that day’s English class, I told him. He said, using “Whenever, Whatever” that I just learned,
“Whenever, it doesn’t matter. Whatever works best for you.”
My teacher is so generous. Thank you!

(Not corrected): But I will give three free classes back to my teacher….. if he notices this post.  😀

Plus:
By the way, if you read my previous post, It was a bit negative. But I’ve moved on.  😅

New words (Not corrected):
Flakey = unreliable
wacky = odd, strange, weird, crazy
odd﹤strange﹤weird﹤wacky﹤crazy
misdeeds = things you wrong

 

