My (un)Funny Valentine

On Valentine’s day in Japan, usually, women give chocolates to men or somebody else special in their lives. They could be a boyfriend, a husband, a romantic interest, friends, etc. In the case of giving to friends, we call it tomo-choco and giri-choco. Depending on the relationship, these mean love, friendship, courtesy and obligation. Lately, some women buy a little bit fancier than usual chocolates for themselves for Valentine’s day, too.

Why should only women give presents to men in Japan? 😤

2017valentines

In 1958, one Japanese chocolate company had a strategy for Valentine’s day, in which women gave chocolates to men, because they had many more female customers than male customers at that time.
Also, another candy company had a strategy for men to give candies to women on March 14th, one month after Valentine’s Day, called White Day. And today, it’s not only candies, but some cookies or a small gift, etc.

Anyway, I don’t like this Japanese Valentine’s day. Because I think many men expect it from a girlfriend or wife or somebody on Valentine’s day. I sometimes feel it’s not surprising and romantic, just like an obligation. 😩

There are many varieties of chocolates in this season, so I bought a lot of them chocolates for myself, and a small gift for him. I’m not sure if it’s love or courtesy? Anyway, I hope to break the Japanese Valentine’s day habit. This year will be the last year…. 😎

New words ( Not corrected ):
courtesy = doing something nice
obligation = have to do it

 

 

