Beans: The magical fruit?

In 2017, February 4th was Setsubun, which is what we name the day before the first day of spring. It usually occurs around February 3rd. On this day, in a custom called Mame-maki, we throw and scatter roasted soy beans, inside and outside our houses while saying, “Get goblins out of the house! Invite happiness into the home!”

setsubun

After that, we eat a bean for each year of our age and pray for happiness throughout the year. Some older people find eating them difficult because the beans are usually unseasoned and just taste like beans. During this time, we sometimes ask other people their ages and make small age related jokes.

There are many Setsubun events held in temples and shrines. The beans at these events are usually in small packs. If you are lucky, you can catch pack of beans for free. Although I didn’t go to any events and I didn’t do it in my house, I got a bunch of beans for sale this year. And then, I got an idea.

I will eat those roasted soy beans if I want to stop from becoming hungry. It’s my new diet.  I wonder if it will work for me?
Anyway, I should go on a diet and exercise. I can’t wear my pair of jeans now. 😱 😭

Diet-related Haiku → Time to Haiku 2

Comment:
I didn’t know this song. I wonder if many English native speakers know it? This is teacher X’s version. ↓

🎵  Beans, beans, the magical fruit
the more you eat, the more you toot
the more you toot, the better you feel
let’s eat beans for every meal! 🎵

New word:
toot = onomatopoeia of horn sound = could be fart = onara in Japanese

Usually, when I don’t understand English words, my teacher explains the meaning in English. But this time, I didn’t understand toot, and then he explained it and he also wrote “fart.”
But I didn’t know fart, as well. And he said, “Look it up!” He abandoned the work.
I looked up the word in my dictionary.
….. Uh-huh.
And he also looked it up and said in Japanese, “Onara!” loudly. 😳   …..I got it!
My teacher understood a new Japanese word, too.
I don’t often know these kinds of English words. 😂

